Cooking Prime Rib On A Big Green Egg

This is how I cooked a prime rib roast on my Big Green Egg (BGE) on Christmas day 2008. I started with a prime rib roast, about 4.5 pounds.  The night before, put the roast in a glass dish, covered with a paper towel, and place it in the refrigerator.   I seasoned with the following:

  • 2 Tablespoons rosemary
  • 2 Tablespoons cracked black pepper
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup of Kosher salt

First brush the roast with olive oil, then apply seasoning on all sides.

DSC00087 DSC00089 DSC00090

Cooking:

Start by searing the roast at 600 degrees for 3-4 minutes on each side.

DSC00092

After searing, pull the roast off and allow the BGE to cool down to 325 degrees.

DSC00095

Put the roast back on the BGE, setup for indirect cooking, on a roast rack with a pan under it to catch the drippings and protect the roast from direct heat.

DSC00096

Cook until the internal temperature reaches 130 degrees, for medium to medium rare.  It took about 2 hours.

DSC00098

Then pull the roast off and let is sit for about 20 minuets, covered in foil, before carving.

DSC00099

This is what it looked like on the plate.

Hope you have as much luck as I did.  Enjoy.

yojoe (in BGE mode) out
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

11 Responses

  1. For the love of all beef that is prime, sear for only two to three minutes per side unless you want an over-charred outside.

    Also, substitute yellow or spicy brown mustard for the olive oil to act as a binder for the seasoning.

  2. Keystone – I agree on the less time searing, I will change the post. But I think I will stick with the olive oil and leave the mustard for my ribs. Thanks for the help.

  3. I’m trying your way this right now:) First time egg owner and prime rib cooker on the grill.

  4. Are you sure it was 2 hours for 4.5 pounds I saw another green egg video andit was 2 hours for 7.5 pounds ?

  5. I am using this method right this second. I will post back with my results.

  6. Here’s a link to grilling prime rib that I’m trying right now:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/craig-goldwyn/grilled-prime-rib-recipe_b_799877.html

    The author has some great tips and I like the way he uses scientific facts to make for interesting reading.
    He explains reverse searing. Basically that is is best to sear at the end.
    I’ve followed his instructions for ribs and they were by far the besr ribs I’ve ever tasted. I’m hoping this recipe will be as successful.
    Cheers and Merry Christmas!

  7. How long for an 11 pounder bone in prime rib?

  8. I do agree with all of the concepts you have introduced for your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for beginners. Could you please prolong them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  9. Excellent post, thanks for taking the time Drednaught. I too used olive oil for prepping my 5 lb bone in rib roast today. In addition I seasoned with sea salt , ground pepper and garlic powder. I took some pieces of oak bark and let them soak in a couple ounces of single malt scotch which I then added to the coals. I followed the advice of another BGE’er and braised for only 2 min a side at 500 degrees. Then with the rib roast in a rack with foil underneath to catch drippings, I eased the temp down to 300 degrees and let cook for an hour and forty five min until internal temp was 130-140 degrees. Cover in foil and let sit at room temp for about 15-20 min for a medium to medium rare finish. Absolutely out of this world flavor. Good luck my friends and Merry Christmas.

  10. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment
    (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  11. […] Cooking prime rib on a big green egg | dreadnaught This is how i cooked a prime rib roast on my big green egg on christmas day 2008. i started with a prime rib roast, about 4.5 pounds. the night before, put. […]

Leave a comment